Harris County (TX) is the sole county in District 14 of the South Texas Section. The county is subdivided into four quadrants using IH-10 to the east and west, IH-45 to the north and Hwy 288 to the south as dividing lines. Each quadrant has an Emergency Coordinator and Assistant Emergency Coordinators as needed. You may join Harris County ARES online. All members are asked to keep their contact and station information current by using this database.

DEC - Sherwin Klemp, K5SEK

Click on appropriate link to go to corresponding unit page

Northwest Unit
John Sawyer

ARES logo

Northeast Unit
Scott deMasi

Southwest Unit
Wayne Johnson

Southeast Unit

Amateur Radio Emergency Service®, ARES®, and the ARES logo are trademarks of the American Radio Relay League, Inc. and used by permission

Volunteering for public service events are a wonderful way to practice handling traffic and working in a more formal net format. Go to the PSE page for events to volunteer for.

A wide area net (WAN) is held each 5th Sunday. Each WAN is ran differently for different purposes. More info can be found on the WAN page